Antinuclear

Australian news, and some related international items

Great Barrier Reef: diving in the stench of millions of rotting animals – video | Environment | The Guardian

GarryRogers Nature Conservation

GR:  Watch this short video to get a clear idea of what’s happening to coral.

Richard Vevers from the Ocean Agency had never experienced anything like the devastation he witnessed in May diving around the dead and dying coral reefs off Lizard Island on the Great Barrier Reef. When his team emerged from the water, he says, ‘We realised we just stank – we stank of the smell of rotting animals.’ The reefs around the island have been ravaged by coral bleaching caused by climate change.  Special report by Josh Wall and Michael Slezak, theguardian.com.  Source: Great Barrier Reef: diving in the stench of millions of rotting animals – video | Environment | The Guardian

Save

View original post

June 7, 2016 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

New South Wales people: put your Labor politicians on the nuclear spot!

ALP IndecisionSAMPLE EMAIL

 It is best to send emails or letters in your own  words. However, here’s USA election 2016an example anyway.

My website will follow with interest – the politicians who bothered to answer, and whether or not they will stick to Labor’s policy.
Your own address, and date
 Sender’s address
The Hon Mr or Ms……..
Member for
Dear …….
 As the Federal Election approaches, I need to know what is you position on the nuclear issue.
The 2015 National Policy Platform states:
  1. Labor will:
  • Vigorously and totally oppose the ocean dumping of radioactive waste; 
  • Prohibit the establishment of nuclear power plants and all other stages of the nuclear fuel cycle in Australia; 
  • Fully meet all Australia’s obligations as a party to the NPT; and 
  • Remain strongly opposed to the importation and storage of nuclear waste that is sourced from overseas in Australia.
The South Australian Labor government t is promoting a move to import nuclear wastes.  In view of this, the National Labor Party will surely be re-examining the national policy.
Before deciding on my vote, I need to be sure of Labor policy on this issue.
 Please tell me:
Will you vote to keep the present Labor policy as above, or will you vote to change it?
Yours faithfully
Your name
NEW SOUTH WALES LABOR FEDERAL MPs, SENATORS and CANDIDATES

MPs
Hon Anthony Albanese MP   for grayndler  A.Albanese.MP@aph.gov.au (02) 6277 4664
Hon Sharon Bird MP for Cunningham  Sharon.Bird.MP@aph.gov.au  (02) 6277 4244
Hon Chris Bowen MP for McMahon, Chris.Bowen.MP@aph.gov.au  (02) 9604 0710
Hon Tony Burke MP  for Watson Tony.Burke.MP@aph.gov.au  (02) 9750 9088
Hon Jason Clare MP for Blaxland  – no email  (02) 9790 2466
Hon Ms Sharon Claydon MP – no email (02) 4926 1555
Hon  Mr Pat Conroy MP  Pat.Conroy. MP@aph.gov.au   02) 4954 261
Hon Justine Elliot MP – for Richmond  Justine.Elliot.MP@aph.gov.au  (07) 5523 4371
Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP – for Hunter   Joel.fitzgibbon.MP@aph.gov.au  (02) 4991 1022
Hon Mr Chris Hayes MP – for Fowler  Chris.Hayes.MP@aph.gov.au   (02) 9726 3988
Hon Ed Husic MP for Chifley – no email  (02) 6277 4488
Mr Stephen Jones MP for Throsby  no email  (02) 4262 6122
Hon  Ms Julie Owens MP   for Parramatta Julie.Owens.MP@aph.gov.au  (02) 6277 4134

 Hon Tanya Plibersek MP for Sydney –   (02) 6277 4404   tanya.plibersek.mp@aph.gov.au

Ms Michelle Rowland MP – for Greenway  michelle.rowland.mp@aph.gov.au  (02) 9671 4780

SENATORS

Senator the Hon Doug Cameron    senator.cameron@aph.gov.au  (02) 6277 3367

Senator Sam Dastyari    senator.dastyari@aph.gov.au   (02) 9326 5987
Senator Jenny McAllister  jennifer.mcallister@aph.gov.au  (02) 9719 8100

Senator Deborah O’Neill  – no email –  (02) 4367 4565
 
CANDIDATES  

Peter Alley  for Lyne peter@peteralley.com  0428 327 525

Josh Andrews – for Berowra josh@joshnandrews.com 0423 132 262

Aoife Champion for HUme – aoife.champion@nswlabor.org.au 0413 794 318

Anne Charlton – for Robertson – no email – 0412 863 792
Milton Dick – for Oxley Milton.Dick@australianlabor.com.au   (07) 3372 8980
Michael Freelander for Macarthur –  mike.freelander@australianlabor.com.au  0499 938 5030
Rhonda Funnell for Mackellar – for Mackellar Rhonda.Funnell@nswlabor.org.au0400 916 196
Chris Gambian for Banks – chris@chrisgambian.com.au   0438 898 198
Katie Gompertz for Bradfield – no email 0417 952 723

Lyndal Howison for Bennelong – lyndalhowison@gmail.com 0478 913 841
Emma Husar for Lindsay – emma.husar@australianlabor.com.au  0499 394 517
Mr Jess Jennings- http://www.jesswecan.net (no ph no.)
Christian Kunde for Farrer – christian.kunde@nswlabor.org.au 0423 413 849
Emma McBride for Dobell – (no ph no)
Fiona Phillips for Glmore – Fiona.Phillips@nswlabor.org.au 0434626669
Andrew Punch for Mitchell  0490 347 212 mitchell@andrewpunch.com.au

Diedree Steinwall for Hughes Diedree.Steinwall@nswlabor.org.au  0415 578 318
Susan Templeman for Macquarie susantempleman@gmail.com (no ph no)
Damian Wood for Cowper  (contact not available)

June 7, 2016 Posted by | election 2016 | Leave a comment