Australian news, and some related international items

Anti nuclear campaigner Eileen Wani Wingfield honoured posthumously at the 2018 SA Environment Awards. 

Family accepts Lifetime Achiever Award in Eileen’s honour, Amy Green, 13 Feb 19, 

February 14, 2019 - Posted by | personal stories, South Australia

1 Comment »

  1. The Kupa Piti Kungka Tjuta, including Eileen Wani Wingfield, were the recipients of the CCSA’s “Jill Hudson Award for Environmental Protection” in the year 2000. The reasons for getting the award are listed below:

    • For their campaign against the proposed nuclear waste dumps.
    This campaign has included effort at the local, State and national levels.
    They have involved local, national, and international media, including radio, TV, newspapers and the internet.
    They have lobbied Coober Pedy Council members, politicians and Government ministers.
    They have educated other aboriginal women from the area and from adjoining areas.

    • For their collaboration with the environment movement in opposing the proposed nuclear dumps.
    They have collaborated with individual environmentalists and with organizations such as the CCSA, FoE and the ACF.

    • For their exposure of the effects of the Maralinga and Emu nuclear tests on the health and culture of Aboriginal People.

    • For their participation in Kevin Buzzacott’s Walk for Peace from Lake Eyre South via Canberra to Sydney; the Kungka’s travelled by train to join Kevin in Sydney.
    Whilst in Sydney they visited the nuclear facility at Lucas Heights and met with members of the local shire Council over the issues of nuclear waste and the proposed nuclear reactor for Lucas Heights.

    • For their inspiration to both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people.

    • For the extreme adversity which they have overcome, in their daily lives, in their travels, in dealing with governments, and in dealing with the global nuclear industry.

    • For the high priority that they give to protecting country, culture and future generations.

    2018 was the 20th anniversary of this award.


    Comment by Dennis Matthews | February 17, 2019 | Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: