Australian news, and some related international items

International leading experts opt for 100 per cent renewables and reject nuclear power 

Leading experts opt for 100 per cent renewables and reject nuclear power

The undersigned believe that a future based on 100 per cent renewable energy underpinned by traditional and advanced energy efficiency and storage techniques is not only practicable, affordable, but immensely preferable to one that involves nuclear power. Renewable energy offers us a rapid path to net zero carbon transition that, unlike nuclear power, does not involve the need for decommissioning of radioactive plant, nuclear waste or concerns about safety or security threats. With this in mind we regard the prospect of the Government effectively offering unlimited sources of funding to EDF to build Sizewell C nuclear power plant with dismay and urge people to send in their objections to their MPs at this prospect.

  • Dr David Toke, Director, 100percentrenewableuk,

also Reader in Energy Politics, University of Aberdeen.

  • Jonathon Porritt,

Founder, Director and Trustee, Forum for the Future
Co-Director of the Prince of Wales’s Business & Sustainability Programme

  • Professor Tom Burke
  • Founding Director of E3G
    • Professor Peter Strachan

    The Robert Gordon University
    Aberdeen Business School

    • Dr Paul Dorfman

    Founder and Chair Nuclear Consulting Group
    Honorary Senior Research Associate UCL Energy Institute

    • Professor Bryan Wynne,
    • Professor of Science Studies and Research Director of the Centre for the Study of Environmental Change
      • Professor Andrew Stirling,

      Professor of Science and Technology Policy,

      University of Sussex

      • Professor David Elliott,

      Technology Policy Group

    • The Open University
      • Professor Stephen Thomas,

      Public Services International Research Unit (PSIRU)

      University of Greenwich

      • Professor Mark Jacobson,

      Director of Atmosphere/Energy Program,

    • Stanford University (USA)
      • Professor Christian Breyer,

      Lappeenranta University of Technology (Finland)

      • Shaun Burnie

      Independent Nuclear Consultant

      • Dr Ian Fairlie,
      • Vice President CND
        • Pete Wilkinson

        Chairman, Together Against Sizewell C (TASC)

        • Dr Philip Johnstone

        Research Fellow
        Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU)

November 16, 2020 - Posted by | General News

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: